Since I moved to Switzerland I became a sort of “housewife 2.0”. In fact, things are so expensive here, that not matter what you were used to do in your “previous non-Swiss life”, you need to step up and do the most you can at home, in order to save some precious francs.

Dry cleaning: prohibitive. Buying a cake: super expensive. Hiring a cleaning lady: unbelievable.

So, little by little I started to figure out some “how tos” that are real life savers. As for example, almost at closing time Coop puts “50%” discounts on every item that is about to expire (but also on some products that can’t be consumed in one shot, such as chocolates, and that will expire in only “one month”, 3 weeks or so). Migros does the same already in the afternoon and you can find special offers on some dedicated trays and sections of the fridge. So I usually go to the supermarket at 6 PM and I improvise the dinner with what I find among the discounted products. For dry cleaning: sometimes you don’t have any other options. You can’ wash some types of fabrics. But if we are talking blots or faded colors there are always some good old grandma’s remedies. As for example, last weekend a friend, who owns a B&B, told me you can revive your bedclothes with soda water.

Among my new improved “powers” there is also baking and cooking. Since I moved here my husband and I became perfect chefs making cakes, gnocchi, pasta, pretzels, pizza, bread from scratch (my favourite youtube recipe channel/blog is Laura Vitale‘s BTW). But we usually stay in our comfort  zone, cooking only Italian or American food. As they are both savoury and people love them, we are usually asked a cheesecake or cookies! But yesterday I finally decided to be courageous and try some Swiss recipe: spaetzli! When I approached the recipe first I faced the awful truth: I don’t have the required spaetzli tool! Yes, there is one, as for any single other thing here “in der Schweiz” (when I came here I discovered the existence of strawberry peelers for the first time). But I didn’t give up and I searched the internet and found some great tips (some than didn’t include colanders etc). So keeping a wood breadboard inclined and cutting the dough with a knife in the boiling water I made it. Better than Anna’s best.

spaetzli

So I came to the conclusion that maybe I will never be the perfect Swiss wife but being an Italian and having learnt since I was little the art of improvisation I have the right attitude to survive here. Even without a spaetzli tool!

